Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Sonicview - Setting Up a Dial Up Connection For iHub/IKS

  1. #1
    Moderator philippe146's Avatar
    Join Date
    25-02-2010
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    206
    Uploads
    116

    Arrow Sonicview - Setting Up a Dial Up Connection For iHub/IKS

    Sonicview - Setting Up a Dial Up Connection For iHub/IKS

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Setting up dial up connection with IKS
    Hope this helps you out.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Setting UP Dial-up connection with IKS recievers

    These instruction worked great for N2 Encryption but for N3 Encryption it appears that Higher Speed Connecions are required for the required Processing requirements.

    In this tutorial I will walk you through using a dial-up Internet connection with you IKS receiver. I will try to explain the steps with as much detail as possible. I hope this tutorial will help those of you who do not have access to High Speed Internet use your IKS receiver as best you can.
    The options in this tutorial is for use with a PC with a dial up connection and any IKS receiver including, N fusion, Neosat IPRO 2000 Plus, and others that are available. I do not know how IKS dongles work, however this tutorial may help you and I would like feed back on this. I will be using a PC with a 56k modem, Ethernet card, windows xp pro, Intel celeron 1.1 GHz processor 256 Mb of ram. Not the top of the line computer at all, I will explain the settings needed on the IPRO 2k Plus however the setting on the STB will be the same on all receivers however getting to the settings may be different. So lets get started.

    1. Things you need to get the dial up connection with your IKS STB are as follows:

    A. PC with Ethernet card, (wired), Modem 56k is best. Processor and memory don't really matter, slower computers are OK but not recommended. Even my PC isn't the best for this, if you want to use for other things at the same time.
    B. IKS receiver
    C. Ethernet Router, switch or hub, any of these will work, with a router or switch being the best options. (having a 4 port should be fine.)
    D. Cat 5, 5E, Cat 6 Ethernet patch cables at the required lengths you need. If you are connecting the STB *****tly to the PC you may use a Crossover Ethernet cord.
    Dial-up Internet service.

    2.OK lets start with the PC settings. First you will have to have a PC with an Ethernet card and a data modem installed. If your PC doesn't have either of these items installed do this at this time. Follow instructions that come with the hardware. Most new computers come with these items installed already. Once you have that completed ts time to configure the PC. I will assume you have the dial up working already, however you don't have to have it connected at this time.
    3.Through Internet Connection Sharing for ******* and dial-up connections, you can use Microsoft Windows XP to connect your home ******* or your small-office ******* to the Internet. For example, you may have a home ******* where a Windows XP-based computer can connect to the Internet by using a dial-up connection. If you enable Internet Connection Sharing on the computer that uses the dial-up connection, you can provide ******* address translation, addressing, and name resolution services for all the computers on your *******.

    1.Click Start, click Control Panel, and then double-click ******* Connections.
    2.Click the dial-up *******ing connection that you want to share (that is, the one that connects to the Internet), and then under ******* Tasks, click Change settings of this connection.
    3.On the Advanced tab, click to select the Allow other ******* users to connect through this computer's Internet connection check box.

    4.This is a dial-up *******ing connection, so we want the connection to be automatically dialed when another computer on your ******* tries to connect to the Internet, click to select the Establish a dial-up connection whenever a computer on my ******* attempts to access the Internet check box.
    5.We do not have to click the Allow other ******* users to control or disable the shared Internet connection check box. As we are using this with the IKS receiver, plus you can connect other computers with the router and share this connection with them too.
    6.Under Internet Connection Sharing in Home *******ing connection, select the connection that connects the computer that is sharing its Internet connection to the other computers on your *******. This would be the Ethernet card.
    Note that to enable Internet Connection Sharing in Windows XP, you must have administrative rights.

    Important When you enable Internet Connection Sharing, the ******* adapter that is connected to the home ******* or to the small-office ******* receives a new static IP address of 192.168.0.1, with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0. Existing TCP/IP connections on the ******* may be lost and must be reestablished.

    4. Next connect the PC Ethernet card to the router switch or hub. If you are using a router such as a LINKSYS WRT54g, use the wan port. This way the router pulls an IP from the PC, and it will require less configuring in the router. If you use a switch you can plug into any port you want. If you don't own a router switch or hub and don't want to buy one, get yourself a CAT 5 ,5E, 6 crossover cable, And see the next step.

    5.Dial up the Internet connection and verify you are connected.

    6.Next make sure you have the latest IKS fix for your STB loaded. Hook the STB to the router switch, or hub with an Ethernet cord. If you don't have one of these items, this is were you use the crossover cable, connect the STB *****tly with the crossover cable. On the stb go to the ******* settings. On the ipro it is at menu button, STB setup, ******* setup. The STB should be on DHCP. This is were things get different. If you used a router, for example the linksys wrt54g, you should have these values or something close to them.
    IP Address 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
    Gateway 192.168.1.1
    DNS 192.168.1.1
    If you don't have these not to worry, each case may be different. Post in the forums and I will try to help you out.
    If you used a crossover cable, switch, or hub, you should have settings like these
    IP Address 192.168.0.***
    Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
    Gateway 192.168.0.1
    DNS 192.168.0.1 The DNS could be this address or the address of your ISP's DNS server.
    7.finally to test the connection exit out to a channel and hit the f2 button then the red button, on the ipro and check to see if there is a new bin release. If you get white writing in the box the connection is working. Post on the forum and I will try to help you to see where we went wrong. I'm not sure about the other IKS receivers, however I'm sure they have some type of bin updating too. If not verify your iks settings with what has been posted wit the bin file you loaded earlier if you need to configure those manually a lot of bins do it for you. You should now be able to Use the IKS service.

    8.A few things I would like to say. One you will still have to be connected at all times to use the IKS. WE did select the option so that if the Receiver tries to go online the computer will dial automatically. I personally plugged my PC into the wan port of the router, and the router issued the 192.168.1.100 address but it was configured automatically to use the dial up connection, and the router pulled a wan address of 192.168.0.1. If you do use a router switch or hub, and you have other PCs you want to share that dial up connection with, just plug them into the router or connect to the router wirelessly, as the wrt54g is wireless. The connection to the computer that dials the NET must have a wired connection to the router. You could also use a wireless gaming device with your IKS receiver to connect to the wireless router instead of using an Ethernet cord. This is the basic setup and should work with out problems but as everyones computers can act differently

  2. #2
    Moderator philippe146's Avatar
    Join Date
    25-02-2010
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    206
    Uploads
    116

    Arrow Re: Sonicview - Setting Up a Dial Up Connection For iHub/IKS

    Sonicview iHub - The Only Role for Wiznet

    For all the ihub owners that keep using the wiznet all the time.
    For all who with good intentions keep advising on using the wiznet.
    The only role that wiznet should do is to upgrade the ihub FIRMWARE to version 1.4, either from version 1 or fixing the version 82 problem.
    Everyone who had his ihub FIRMWARE updated to version 1.4 and also everyone who is purchasing the ihub now, should not worry using the wiznet, it already did his part and there is nothing else it is supposed to do.
    If you want to use it to view information about your ihub, fine, but that's it, don't keep using the wiznet and messing your system and loose tv.

  3. #3
    Moderator philippe146's Avatar
    Join Date
    25-02-2010
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    206
    Uploads
    116

    Arrow Re: Sonicview - Setting Up a Dial Up Connection For iHub/IKS

    Lost or Forgotten your SViHub S/N#, No Problem

    Many people feel that the cheap-a$$ sticker used to provide you
    with your SViHub S/N is a future recipe for disaster. Why?

    Because glue dries out and in time that microscopic sticker with
    its poor quality dot matrix printing is going to fall off then what?

    Then you are going to come looking for this info.

    Thanks in large part to both: richiemiami & robman33 for the info.

    All SViHubs pretty much utilize the same hex decimal serial number
    except for the 2 center bytes that have been shown in the example
    below as XXs:

    Sample SViHub S/N: 5E 02 E1 02 XX XX 0A 12

    Note: In the event that your S/N has a lower case a or a d in it, this
    is more important to you, given that these letters are harder to read and
    are difficult to differentiate from one another.

    Ok, so let's get started, in order to find out what the XX's are, do the
    following:

    1. Open Wiznet and do a search and look at the mac address, you'll see something like: 00:90:bc:0f:xx xx - with xx xx actually being the parts you need for your SViHub S/N.

    Armed with the previously missing data, you are now ready to complete your SViHub S/N.

    2. Now enter the complete serial number in to the ipconfig

    Please note, It can take up to 20 minutes for this to kick in and start working. With most SViHubs responding in about 1 to 3 minutes. As such, please ensure you have given them enough time to 'authenticate'.

    This methods works at this time because, TeamSV has yet to press the "The Two Byte" security method.

    Hope that helps ya!

  4. #4
    Moderator philippe146's Avatar
    Join Date
    25-02-2010
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    206
    Uploads
    116

    Arrow Re: Sonicview - Setting Up a Dial Up Connection For iHub/IKS

    wiznet & ihub v1.9 files & upgrade instructions
    notes (this is very useful for new users and old users enjoy)
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. Sonicview Premier_TE_v246_100419
    By philippe146 in forum Sonicview
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26-05-2010, 05:18:04
  2. Sonicview hd8000_TE_19APL2010_v477_b207
    By philippe146 in forum Sonicview
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26-05-2010, 05:15:05
  3. Sonicview SV360Elite_231T_timo
    By philippe146 in forum Sonicview
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26-05-2010, 05:11:05
  4. Sonicview Ihub emulator
    By philippe146 in forum Sonicview
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-04-2010, 08:39:27
  5. sonicview
    By vics25 in forum Introductions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-04-2008, 11:05:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •