Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: newbe to technomate 5400ci

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    19-08-2010
    Location
    tyne and wear, england
    Posts
    5
    Uploads
    0

    newbe to technomate 5400ci

    Hi all , my name is gary (mad sunderland afc football supporter). Getting a new technomate 5400ci fixed dish to hotbird. Is there much support for this receiver or do i buy offical cards . Also do i just download update to via usb? Many thanks
    P.S. used to have stuff like this about 5 years ago -humax , mvision, and others. The got married

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    16-10-2008
    Posts
    12
    Uploads
    0

    Re: newbe to technomate 5400ci

    If it's the footie you're after, the only way to watch on hotbird is by subscription but if you can pick up 39east(which you'll need a decent 80cm or larger dish) then Bulsat has just been opened up on your receiver with the latest patch and softcam and yes it's done via usb.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    19-08-2010
    Location
    tyne and wear, england
    Posts
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Re: newbe to technomate 5400ci

    thanks mate. It used to be hotbird that was THE satellite to watch movies , footie and xxx . Struggle to find a cheap installer within tyne and wear. TvS seems to have a monopoly. Want to keep the dish size down for costs and security'. Also is there an alternative receiver that technomate or whoever else does?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    16-10-2008
    Posts
    12
    Uploads
    0

    Re: newbe to technomate 5400ci

    On 13e there is about 25 French language channels open which includes xxx Dorcel tv but that's about it. Two years ago there was plenty of packages available by emu with a standard technomate and many others but encryptions have been tightened up recently which is why the Spiderbox and Proteks seems to be the current favourites but to use them to their full potential you'll need a motorised dish and broadband connection to connect to the server.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    19-08-2010
    Location
    tyne and wear, england
    Posts
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Re: newbe to technomate 5400ci

    ok so if not 13e where else is best? not sure i can afford motorised. ta mate . or should i buy an official card?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    16-10-2008
    Posts
    12
    Uploads
    0

    Re: newbe to technomate 5400ci

    It all depends on what you want to watch. Foreign subs can be very expensive(search the net and you'll find out) Tring+ is the current favourite for prem footie with a choice of Saturday 3pm ko's at about 300 per year but it's on 16e so 80cm minimum dish size required. I've got the same Technomate receiver plus 85cm motorised dish currently lined up on 39e for the Bulsat package as I mentioned before. The signal is usually about 85-90 in south Manchester and still good in heavy rain, a 60cm dish may be ok for you in clear weather but annoying when it rains.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    19-08-2010
    Location
    tyne and wear, england
    Posts
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Re: newbe to technomate 5400ci

    Getting it installed on thursday . They seem to suggest astra or hotbird as the most reliable for all round. 220 all in . Not bad as they were originally charging 329 until i haggled.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    19-08-2010
    Location
    tyne and wear, england
    Posts
    5
    Uploads
    0

    Re: newbe to technomate 5400ci

    system installed and patch loaded fine . ab 1 opening fine etc.. xxl doesnt start till later but picture is there

Similar Threads

  1. Technomate how to and faq
    By loris. in forum Technomate Information and Tutorials
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 27-08-2010, 18:27:21
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-11-2009, 23:00:38
  3. newbe
    By lippi in forum Introductions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 18:48:36
  4. technomate
    By slimjim206 in forum Introductions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2008, 17:03:48
  5. newbe with a dvb please help
    By silent J in forum General Discussions: DVB-PCI Cards
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-12-2005, 13:41:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •