Iñaki Ferreras ©RapidTVNews | 08-09-2011

As part of its process towards the implementation of DTT, Panama will begin its own analogue switch off from 14 September, the Autoridad Nacional de los Servicios Públicos (ASEP) confirmed.

This process to adopt the European DVB-T standard will comprise four steps: the first in the country's capital Panamá and in the city of Colón; secondly, the central provinces; the third the provinces of Chiriquí and Bocas del Toro; finally the province of Darién.

Panama's analogue-digital transition will last at least ten years although as France is officially helping the Central American country through this process this period may be shorter.