Juan Pablo Conti ©RapidTVNews | 28-09-2011

The Argentine government has granted test licences to a list of TV broadcasters operating in the interior of the country, which will now be able to experience for themselves what the digital terrestrial television (DTT) fuss is all about.
The permits, which were issued by the Federal Authority on Audiovisual Communication Services (AFSCA), will allow the broadcasters to join a select group of other TV stations which have been learning about the technical details and monitoring the performance of the ISDB-T specification that has been formally adopted for the transition to digital TV transmissions in the country.
The newly licensed broadcasters are: Channel 9 of Bahía Blanca (with tests to be carried out in the channel 38 of the UHF radiofrequency band); Channel 6 of Bariloche (also in the channel 38); Channel 8 of Córdoba (channel 29); Channel 8 of Mar del Plata (channel 35); Channel 7 of Neuquén (channel 38); Channel 5 of Rosario (channel 38); Channel 11 of Salta (channel 39); Channel 8 of San Miguel de Tucumán (channel 31); and Channel 13 of Santa Fe (channel 32).
As part of the terms and conditions set out in the permits, broadcasters have the option to use the spectrum temporarily allocated to them to transmit high-definition television (HDTV) signals. At least one of the newly licensed stations (Rosario's Channel 5) is said to be considering the possibility of trialling the technology.
A second group of Argentine broadcasters (which had been granted similar DTT licences a few months ago but are yet to carry out initial tests), managed to get their licences renewed for another six months. Stations in this group are La Plata's Channel 10, Paraná's Channel 9 and Rosario's Channel 3.
Among the broadcasters that are already involved in DTT test transmissions are Corrientes's Channel 13, Formosa's Channel 11, Mar del Plata's Channel 10, Mendoza's Channel 7 & Channel 9, Río Cuarto's Channel 13, San Salvador de Jujuy's Channel 7 and Santiago del Estero's Channel 7.