TV Asia acquires rights to Celebrity Cricket League

Louise Duffy ©RapidTVNews | 20-01-2012

US broadcaster TV Asia has acquired the US rights to the second annual Celebrity Cricket League series from 21 January to 12 February. The CCL unites India's biggest passions - cricket and cinema - with each team featuring many Bollywood stars and South Asian celebrities.
The league is comprised of six teams - the Mumbai Heroes, Bengal Tigers, Kerala Strikers, Telugu Warriors, Chennai Rhinos and the Karnataka Bulldozers - with such Bollywood stars as Bobby Deol, Suniel Shetty and Ritesh Deshmukh taking the field to compete for their team.
US viewers will be able to watch the matches on the same day as India, time-shifted for US time zones. Each weekend, starting at 10:30am until 6pm EST, viewers can tune in to two matches each Saturday and Sunday with the live final airing Sunday, February 12 at 7:30am EST.
TV Asia will also air footage from the CCL second season kick-off event, which was attended by Salman Khan, Suniel Shetty, Sonakshi Sinha, Kangana Ranaut, Bobby Deol Ritesh Deshmukh and featured performances by Atif Aslam and Devi Sri Prasad, among others.