Aggies win home invitational

Texas A&M wins team titles, combines for 15 victories

Texas A&M Athletics

Last Updated - February 11, 2012 11:16 GMT

Texas A&M Athletics

Ameer Webb turned in the second-fastest American time of the year in the 200 on Saturday.

COLLEGE STATION, Texas -- A combined 15 victories for the Aggies led to a sweep of team titles among the nine-team Texas A&M Invitational held Saturday at Gilliam Indoor Stadium in front of 2,083 fans.
The No. 8 Texas A&M men totaled 211 points to finish ahead of Big 12 schools Missouri (95) and Baylor (82) with Houston (80) and Rice (53) rounding out the top five teams. The rest of the field included UTEP (43), Alabama (42), TCU (24) and USC (22).
For the No. 9 Aggie women a tally of 175.5 points placed them ahead of Big 12 squads Baylor (118) and Missouri (77) while TCU (60) and Alabama (51.5) rounded out the top five. The rest of the field included Houston (50), Rice (45), USC (43) and UTEP (23).
A pair of collegiate leading times for the 2012 season was set in the 200 and 400 meters. A&M junior Ameer Webb posted a 20.79 in the 200 to take over the collegiate lead with the second fastest time by an American this season and fourth fastest in the world.
In the 400, Houston junior Errol Nolan clocked a 46.14 to record the top collegiate time in 2012 with Aggies Ricky Babineaux (47.07) and Deon Lendore (47.21) placing second and fourth, respectively.
Webb was a double winner for the Aggies as he also claimed the 60 meters in 6.70 seconds. In both short sprint events the A&M men swept the top three spots. Behind Webb in the 60 and 200 were Michael Bryan (6.77 / 21.14) and Prezel Hardy, Jr. (6.79 / 21.21).
The Aggie women also enjoyed a sweep of the 60 and 200 with Ashley Collier claiming the 60 in 7.40 and Dominique Duncan winning the 200 in 23.29. Duncan's time is the second fastest collegiate time this indoor season.
Duncan finished second in the 60 with a 7.41 while Kamaria Brown placed third in 7.42. In the 200, Brown clocked 23.49 as runner-up with Collier third at 23.57. Olivia Ekpone placed fifth in the 60 (6.49) and fourth in the 200 (23.70).
The Aggie men's potential in the mile was also on display. Will Barry set a career best of 4:03.10 to win the race in a time that would have been the school record just a week ago, but is now No. 2 on the all-time list. A trio of A&M milers followed Barry to place 3-4-5 with MacLean O'Donnell (4:04.16, No. 2 A&M), C.J. Brown (4:04.99, No. 5 A&M) and Colin Slattery (4:09.90).
O'Donnell equaled the previous school record that was broken last week by Henry Lelei (4:01.49).
The middle distance dominance continued in the 800 where Michael Preble clocked a winning time of 1:47.52, the No. 3 performance all-time at A&M. Preble was followed by Oscar Ramirez in third (1:48.57) and Lelei in seventh (1:50.65). Ramirez is No. 3 on the Aggie all-time list and Lelei takes over the No. 8 position.
Other event winners for Texas A&M men included James Bonn (2:25.50 - 1000m), Jonathan Turner (24-1.75 - long jump), Ashton Young (1:09.79 - 600 yards), distance medley relay (9:59.06) and 4 x 400 relay (3:07.36).
Event winners for the Aggie women included Hillary Hagan (2:51.38 - 1000m), Jordan Wilson (40-2.75 - triple jump), Laura Asimakis (13-7.25 - pole vault), and 4 x 400 relay (3:35.05).