Azerbaijan to ban foreign language TV in May

Rebecca Hawkes ©RapidTVNews | 20-03-2012

A ban on the broadcast of foreign language television programmes imposed by Azerbaijan's National Television and Radio Council (NTRC) will come into force on 1 May.
Foreign movies will be exempt from the ban, the council's chairman told the Azerbaijani Press Agency, however he said dubbing must become a greater focus for TV channels.
"We have not banned foreign feature films. For example, Chalikushu (The Wren), produced in Turkey is not TV series, it is feature film. Seventeen Moments of Spring is feature film. The ban is not applied to them. Of course, TV channels can dub feature films and show them. But TV channels must approach dubbing more attentively and increase its quality," said Nushiravan Maharramli, chairman of the NTRC.
He added that from 1 May, the showing of foreign televsision shows, including popular Turkish TV series, will be stopped in the country.
"This issue has been discussed for more than a year. The TV channels should have been ready for it. TV channels bear responsibility before the society. One of these responsibilities is to provide the Azerbaijani audience with the films made in Azerbaijan. They should not restrict their activity to showing foreign films," said Maharramli.