Sony launches Crackle in LATAM

Iñaki Ferreras ©RapidTVNews | 18-04-2012

Sony Pictures Television has announced the launch of its streaming video platform Crackle in 17 countries throughout Latin America.
Crackle offers hundreds of movies and series for free and promises to revolutionize the industry. Crackle is the first legal site that will offer content for free, thanks to funding through advertising. The titles are available in English and include the option of subtitles or dubbing into Spanish. Crackle services, which are sponsored by advertisers, offer consumers a wide variety of Hollywood movies and a great selection of episodes of various television series.

"Internet and video consumption rates are on the rise in all of Latin America - in Mexico alone, more than 80% of all online users consume video content each month, according to ComScore Video Metrix," said Jose Rivera Font, VP and general manager at Crackle, Latin America. Last year, iTunes and Netflix also launched in the region.
"Crackle offers consumers in the region an unparalleled viewing experience with free content that has been programmed to meet viewers needs while providing creative opportunities for advertisers to market their brands online," added Rivera Font.

The Banco Nacional de Mexico (Banamex) is one of the most important sponsors in the network and will have exclusivity in the category of the banking sector during the first year of activity in Mexico.

Crackle offers new movies every week, from about 150 titles including movies from Columbia Pictures, TriStar Pictures, Screen Gems, Sony Pictures Classics and others, plus full episodes of TV series.

Among these include titles such as Stealth: The Invisible Threat, Hellboy, Dr. Cable, A Manhattan Murder Mystery, The Midnight Express, In The Line Of Fire, The Hollow Man, and The Adventures of Jackie Chan.

This Crackle expansion is currently available in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.