Sky News Arabia takes to the air

Rebecca Hawkes ©RapidTVNews | 06-05-2012

Sky News Arabia, the new 24 hour Arabic language rolling news channel, will go live across the Middle East and North Africa today at 19.00 Mecca time (20.00 in the UAE, 18.00 in Cairo, and 16.00 GMT).

The channel will be broadcast via free to air satellite on transponder 15 on Arabsat Badr 4, transponder 14 on Nilesat 201, and via IPTV in the UAE on either Etisalat's eLife service or Du TV. OSN will also carry Sky News Arabia via its satellite-based pay-TV platform across the Arab world.

It will also broadcast across multiple platforms, including smartphone, tablet and online, from launch.

"The Sky News Arabia team have worked hard for nearly two years to create an independent, 24-hour, Arabic-language multi-media news platform. I am confident we will break new ground and set a new benchmark for news coverage in the Arab world. I encourage viewers to tune in for our inaugural broadcast at 8pm UAE time on Sunday and to join us in shaping the future of Arab news," said Nart Bouran, head of Sky News Arabia.

Dr Sultan Al Jaber, chairman of Sky News Arabia added: "Sky News Arabia will prove to be a truly unique experience for the new Arab generation – offering them the highest standards in technology, coupled with fresh original news from across the world."

"I believe that from tonight at 8:00pm viewers across the Middle East and North Africa will experience a new standard for consuming news in the region."

The channel, a 50:50 joint venture between the UK's BSkyB and Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed's Abu Dhabi Media Investment Corporation (ADMIC), is based in Abu Dhabi's twofour54 media hub.