DI Championship field released

Championship participants will compete at regionals May 17-19

NCAA Release

Last Updated - May 7, 2012 10:13 GMT

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals to participate in the 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships.
Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 17-19. Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.
The finals will be conducted May 29-June 3, at The Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, California. Southern California is the host institution for this year’s championships.
Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.
University of Georgia Golf Course — Athens, Ga.
Host: Georgia

1. Alabama [Southeastern Conference]
2. North Florida [Atlantic Sun Conference]
3. New Mexico
4. Georgia
5. Iowa
6. East Carolina
7. Long Beach State
8. Augusta State
9. Wake Forest
10. Houston
11. Texas-Arlington
12. North Carolina-Wilmington [Colonial Athletic Association]
13. Loyola (Md.) [Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference]
1. Joe David, Mississippi
2. Jacobo Pastor, Charleston Southern
3. Trey Valentine, South Florida
4. Chad Ramey, Mississippi State
5. Sebastian Soderberg, Coastal Carolina
6. Brandon Pena, Florida Gulf Coast
7. James Beale, Mercer
8. David Denlinger, Charleston Southern
9. Kamito Hirai, Winthrop
10. Clay Myers, Jackson State
Grandover Resort — East Course — Greensboro, N.C.
Hosts: North Carolina-Greensboro and the Greensboro Sports Commission
1. Auburn
3. Florida
4. Duke
5. Indiana
6. Liberty [Big South Conference]
7. SMU
8. Texas Tech
9. Tulsa
10. Lamar [Southland Conference]
11. Louisiana-Lafayette
12. Charlotte
13. George Washington [Atlantic 10 Conference]
14. Mount St. Mary’s [Northeast Conference]
1. Vaita Guillaume, Campbell
2. Sam Ryder, Stetson
3. Rhys Enoch, East Tennessee State
4. Casey O’Toole, Samford
5. Leo Garcia, Sacred Heart
University of Michigan Golf Course – Ann Arbor, Mich.
Host: Michigan

1. Southern California
2. Oregon
3. Kent State [Mid-American Conference]
4. Virginia
5. Baylor
6. Oklahoma State
7. Kennesaw State
8. TCU
9. Purdue
10. North Carolina State
11. Notre Dame [Big East Conference]
12. Ohio State
13. Navy [Patriot League]
1. Peter Williamson, Dartmouth
2. Matt Thompson, Michigan
3. Sebastian MacLean, Xavier
4. Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota
5. Dan Ellis, Michigan State
6. Tyler Merkel, Ball State
7. Charlie Bull, Akron
8. Chad Ebert, Green Bay
9. William Park, Army
10. Greg Matthias, Delaware
The Club at Olde Stone – Bowling Green, Ky.
Host: Western Kentucky

2. Arkansas
3. Texas A&M [Big 12 Conference]
4. Clemson
5. North Texas [Sun Belt Conference]
6. Chattanooga [Southern Conference]
7. Memphis [Conference USA]
8. Virginia Tech
9. Northwestern
10. Iowa State
11. Colorado State
12. Jacksonville State [Ohio Valley Conference]
13. Pennsylvania [The Ivy League]
14. Alabama State [Southwestern Athletic Conference]
1. Jace Long, Missouri
2. Justin Dorward, Louisville
3. Adam Hofmann, Vanderbilt
4. Emilio Cuartero, Missouri
5. Anthony Bradley, Austin Peay
Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club – Norman, Okla.
Host: Oklahoma

1. Texas
2. Georgia Tech [Atlantic Coast Conference]
3. Washington
4. Florida State
5. Oklahoma
6. Saint Mary’s (Calif.) [West Coast Conference]
7. Illinois [Big Ten Conference]
8. Middle Tennessee
9. South Carolina
10. San Diego
11. Arizona
12. Sacramento State [America Sky Men’s Golf Conference]
13. IUPUI [The Summit League]
14. Loyola-Chicago[Horizon League]
1. Martin Simonsen, UTEP
2. Kevin Lucas, Nevada
3. Mitchell McLeroy, Stephen F. Austin
4. Scott Willman, Nebraska
5. Alfred Kerstis, UALR
Stanford Golf Course – Stanford, Calif.
Host: Stanford

1. California [Pac-12 Conference]
2. Stanford
3. San Diego State [Mountain West Conference]
4. UCF
5. LSU
6. UAB
7. Wichita State [Missouri Valley Conference]
8. Tennessee
9. Oregon State
10. Southeastern Louisiana
11. San Francisco
12. San Jose State [Western Athletic Conference]
13. UC Davis [Big West Conference]
1. Zac Blair, Brigham Young
2. Justin Shin, New Mexico State
3. Josh Anderson, Pepperdine
4. Alex Edfort, Pacific
5. Justin Keiley, Brigham Young
6. Allan Jun, UC Irvine
7. Mason Casper, Utah Valley
8. Johnny MacArthur, Pepperdine
9. Jarred Bossio, Idaho
10. Zachery Fullerton, New Mexico State
Augusta State won the 2011 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship, capturing its second consecutive national title. Augusta State defeated Georgia 3-2 in the final round of match play competition. At the end of three rounds of stroke play, LSU’s John Peterson shot a 5-under-par 211 to capture the individual title. The tournament was held at Karsten Creek in Stillwater, Okla. and was hosted by Oklahoma State.