Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How much bandwidth cost your cacheex=3

  1. #1
    Super Moderator turbopower's Avatar
    Join Date
    02-07-2011
    Location
    Somewhere between the Streams
    Posts
    3,512
    Uploads
    112

    How much bandwidth cost your cacheex=3

    Because cacheex=3 is different way to sharing this thread is good for experience exchange.
    Cacheex=3 make exchange in one way direction this mean that you send all your collected cache to your peer. Also you receive the cache in same way but in back direction.
    The whole procedure continue all the time.

    This sending and receiving cost us bandwidth. Quality cacheex is possible only if you have low ping and fast connection.

    You are able to limit your bandwidth with tunning on Cache-EX Maxhop: values in account and reader section.

    In account section that is compared to download.
    In reader section is compared to upload.

    In my case with maxhop = 4 in reader section and maxhop = 3 in account section and 25 exchanges I have 150 kbytes/sec download and 450 kbytes/sec upload traffic.

  2. #2

    Re: How much bandwidth cost you cacheex=3

    I have monitored my broadband usage with cacheex 3 since I started using it

    I have been consuming 4.5gb a day download and 1.8gb upload a day.

    This usage is purely the extra usage used by cacheex 3

    What are other members using a day on cacheex 3 ?

    especially ones with massive cache. Do you not hit your usage limits?

  3. #3
    Moderator CapNCooK's Avatar
    Join Date
    10-03-2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    317
    Uploads
    4

    Re: How much bandwidth cost you cacheex=3

    Here are my stats (mbits / last week)

    cache-ex only:

    cachestats.png

  4. #4

    Re: How much bandwidth cost you cacheex=3

    My stats for today:


    rx | tx | total | avg. rate
    ------------------------+-------------+-------------+---------------
    today 7.19 GiB |4.17 GiB |11.36 GiB | 1.39 Mbit/s
    ------------------------+-------------+-------------+---------------
    estimated 9.08 GiB | 5.27 GiB | 14.35 GiB |

    Statistics made with vnstat!
    What is strange, is that always rx > tx! I have "only" 22 cacheex peers, both readers and clients with hop2

  5. #5
    Moderator CapNCooK's Avatar
    Join Date
    10-03-2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    317
    Uploads
    4

    Re: How much bandwidth cost you cacheex=3

    Quote Originally Posted by stefg27 View Post
    What is strange, is that always rx > tx! I have "only" 22 cacheex peers, both readers and clients with hop2
    It's not that strange..

    It's because you get all (unfiltered/duplicate) cached ECM's from all your cache peers.
    Your Oscam is only sending out the de-duplicated and filtered (if you configured that) cache.

    Therefore RX could be higher than TX.

  6. #6

    Re: How much bandwidth cost you cacheex=3

    Quote Originally Posted by CapNCooK View Post
    It's not that strange..

    It's because you get all (unfiltered/duplicate) cached ECM's from all your cache peers.
    Your Oscam is only sending out the de-duplicated and filtered (if you configured that) cache.

    Therefore RX could be higher than TX.
    It' there a way not to receive duplicate ecm? I didn't find it!

  7. #7
    Moderator CapNCooK's Avatar
    Join Date
    10-03-2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    317
    Uploads
    4

    Re: How much bandwidth cost you cacheex=3

    Quote Originally Posted by stefg27 View Post
    It' there a way not to receive duplicate ecm? I didn't find it!
    Heh no, that's not possible.

    To do that, the remote oscam should check your oscam before sending the ECM.
    This takes time.. (-and bandwidth), so is not faultless, and not part of cache-ex at this point.

Similar Threads

  1. Bandwidth cost to fall with West Africa Cable
    By tokoroko in forum Daily Satellite TV News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2012, 16:46:49
  2. Motorola shaves 20% off cable bandwidth
    By OnePiece in forum Daily Satellite TV News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 00:19:17
  3. Cox reclaims bandwidth for more HD, VOD
    By OnePiece in forum Daily Satellite TV News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-05-2011, 12:49:24
  4. Question Bandwidth EPG ?
    By amidavfc in forum General Discussions: DVB-PCI Cards
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 11:20:47

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •