Hamilton among eight Rangers to hit free agency

By T.R. Sullivan / MLB.com | 10/29/12 7:15 PM ET

MLB.com on 2013 free agents00:03:54
10/28/12: MLB.com's Jim Duquette looks at several of the top players who have become free agents at the end of the 2012 season

ARLINGTON -- The Rangers had eight players become free agents on Monday with the end of the World Series. Pitcher Colby Lewis was one of them. Scott Feldman was not.
The Rangers have a $9.25 million option on Feldman for 2013 and have until Wednesday to make an official decision. But it's likely the Rangers will buy out the option for $500,000, letting the right-hander hit the open market. Feldman was 6-11 with a 5.09 ERA in 21 starts and eight relief appearances in 2012.
Lewis has already agreed to a one-year contract for 2013. But it has not been formally approved by the Commissioner's Office or the Players Association. Until that happens, he is technically a free agent.
Outfielder Josh Hamilton officially became a free agent, along with catcher Mike Napoli and pitchers Roy Oswalt, Ryan Dempster, Mike Adams, Koji Uehara and Mark Lowe.
Beltre leads Texas' trio of Gold Glove nominees

ARLINGTON -- Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre, shortstop Elvis Andrus and left fielder David Murphy have been selected as finalists for 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards. The winners will be announced on Tuesday night.
Beltre has already won three Gold Gloves in his career, including last season with the Rangers. He is up against Brandon Inge of the Athletics and Mike Moustakas of the Royals.
Andrus is trying to win his first Gold Glove and is up against J.J. Hardy of the Orioles and Brendan Ryan of the Mariners. Eric Aybar of the Angels won the award last season.
Murphy is also up for his first Gold Glove, competing against Desmond Jennings of the Rays and Alex Gordon of the Royals. This is the second straight year that one Gold Glove will be awarded at each outfield position. Previously there were three Gold Gloves awarded to outfielders, regardless of position, which often meant three center fielders winning. Gordon won his first Gold Glove last year.
The Rangers haven't had an outfielder win a Gold Glove since Gary Pettis in 1990. The only other Gold Glove outfielder for the Rangers was Juan Beniquez in 1977. The Rangers have never had a Gold Glove winner at second base.
The Rangers have also never had three players win a Gold Glove in the same year. The last time they had two was in 2005, with first baseman Mark Teixeira and pitcher Kenny Rogers taking home hardware.
Gold Glove Awards are voted upon by managers and coaches.