Tournament selections unveiled

First-round action set to get under way Friday, Nov. 9

Last Updated - November 5, 2012 3:16 GMT

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Women’s Soccer Committee announced Monday the field of 64 teams for the 2012 NCAA Division III Women’s Soccer Championship.
Forty-three conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the 2012 championship. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final 20 berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.
Sixteen four-team sites will conduct first- and second-round play on the first weekend of the championship, Nov. 9-10 or 10-11. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional sites Nov. 16-17 or 17-18. All games, except the semifinals and final, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. Winners of the four sectionals will advance to the semifinals Nov. 30-Dec. 1, at Blossom Soccer Stadium in San Antonio, Texas.
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Conference Hardin-Simmons
Capital Athletic Conference Frostburg State
Centennial Conference Haverford
City University of New York Athletic Conference CCNY
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Wheaton (Ill.)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Cabrini
Commonwealth Conference Messiah
The Commonwealth Coast Conference Roger Williams
Empire 8 Ithaca
Freedom Conference Misericordia
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Lasell
Great South Athletic Conference Agnes Scott
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Transylvania
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Loras
Landmark Conference Scranton
Liberty League William Smith
Little East Conference Mass.-Boston
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference Westfield State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Calvin
Midwest Conference Lake Forest
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Concordia, Moorhead
New England Collegiate Conference Lesley
New England Small College Athletic Conference Williams
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference Springfield
New Jersey Athletic Conference Montclair State
North Atlantic Conference Castleton
North Coast Athletic Conference DePauw
North Eastern Athletic Conference Lancaster Bible
Northern Athletics Conference Aurora
Northwest Conference Puget Sound
Ohio Athletic Conference Ohio Northern
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Lynchburg
Presidents’Athletic Conference Thomas More
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Chapman
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas)
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Cortland
University Athletic Association Washington U. in St. Louis
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference St. Scholastica
USA South Athletic Conference Averett
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Association Wisconsin-Whitewater
Augustana (Ill.)
Cal Lutheran
Carnegie Mellon
Grove City
Johns Hopkins
The College of New Jersey
Rochester Institute of Technology
Union (N.Y.)
Virginia Wesleyan
Western Connecticut State
Wheaton (Mass.)
In last year’s finals, Messiah defeated Wheaton (Ill.) by a score of 3-1, to win the championship. It was their fourth women’s soccer championship.