Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Newbie Looking for starter's guide to cardsharing

  1. #1

    Newbie Looking for starter's guide to cardsharing

    Hi Guys,
    Absolutely new to cardsharing and looking for a good beginner's guide/tutorial to fully understand the process and how to get set up.
    I have a technomate TM600 receiver, if that helps.

    Any assistance would be great

    thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator TV_LICENCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    31-12-2006
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    615
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Newbie Looking for starter's guide to cardsharing

    if
    step 1 - buy the card
    else
    visit payserver section

  3. #3

    Re: Newbie Looking for starter's guide to cardsharing

    Quote Originally Posted by some888 View Post
    if
    step 1 - buy the card
    else
    visit payserver section
    Thanks for the advice.
    First problem is that my Technomate says it is not connected to the internet. Checked all connections and everything is fine so any ideas ?

  4. #4
    Moderator TV_LICENCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    31-12-2006
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    615
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Newbie Looking for starter's guide to cardsharing

    1 go to network setting
    2 choose dhcp on
    press apply

    I hope it helps

  5. #5

    Re: Newbie Looking for starter's guide to cardsharing

    Tried that but still no joy.

  6. #6
    Moderator TV_LICENCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    31-12-2006
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    615
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Newbie Looking for starter's guide to cardsharing

    can you explain in details:
    *how you checking your "Technomate says it is not connected to the internet"
    *your tm network settings
    *make of your router

  7. #7

    Re: Newbie Looking for starter's guide to cardsharing

    I press the LAN settings on the remote control and it shows the Technomate internal IP address, so it is connected to the internal network. Against static IP address, it says No Internet Connection.
    The TM network settings read as follows:
    IP - 192.168.1.4
    DHCP checked
    Nameserver - 192.168.1.1 (which i the address of the router)
    Gateway - 192.168.1.1
    Enable Port is checked
    Port 80
    Mac address: 00:17:52:50:46:29
    Static IP: No Internet Connection

    The router is from talk talk (Huawei HG533
    Have also swapped the router for a Non Talk Talk one and same problem

  8. #8
    Moderator TV_LICENCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    31-12-2006
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    615
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Newbie Looking for starter's guide to cardsharing

    type in 192.168.1.4 in your web browser ( or your new lan ip adress) or ftp/telnet to your tm.... if you sucseeded with that it means that you have internet connection

    P.S some images in network setting have "enable network" if that is the case make sure it is ticked

    if you have the access to your tm using ftp/telnet/web browder it means you have connection and you can ignore "Static IP: No Internet Connection"

    P.S I would bin "talk talk Huawei" - it is proper crap..... even almost any old modem likes of belkin gives a better performance

    thanks

  9. #9

    Re: Newbie Looking for starter's guide to cardsharing

    Brilliant thanks. downloaded Dreambox Control Centre and now fully connected to the Technomate on the network so can Ftp/Telnet/We browser to it......still says no internet connection on the TV screen but will ignore that for now.
    Next Step - Have obtained a free Static Ip Address (from no-ip.org) so now trying to configure the Huawei HG533 router to set my Static Ip Address manually.
    Can get inside the router easily and can open the network settings but never done this before, so not sure about what setting such as DNS server and alternative DNS server to add in....
    any ideas ?
    thanks

  10. #10
    Moderator TV_LICENCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    31-12-2006
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    615
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Newbie Looking for starter's guide to cardsharing

    hi!
    no never touch router DNS ... probably this a setting for your ISP
    some routers have a dyndns option you can go there and insert your "no-ip.org" settings - this is really optional because it is only for the purpose to update your dns when it changes (quite often this feature does not work properly even on more expensive routers) but since it is not changing every day it may be enough to update it just form you "no-ip.org" settings page
    besides all this dyndns staff is only needed if you want to setup a server - but you still have some way to go before you will do that

    if you have any more questions we gladly help you out, but it has to be the "right question"

    thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Newbie, help me to set up cardsharing
    By Isabelle78 in forum General Discussions: Cardsharing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2009, 14:05:07
  2. Cardsharing Newbie info
    By chas65player in forum General Discussions: Cardsharing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 21:13:16
  3. newbie
    By sirteman in forum Introductions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17-06-2008, 10:47:11
  4. Newbie needs help...
    By grtzac in forum Titanium Card
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2006, 09:57:49
  5. Newbie in SAt
    By Drglord in forum Greek / Ελληνικά
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-06-2006, 16:23:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •