NCAA honors top academic Elite 89 winners from fall championships

Last Updated - January 8, 2013 2:21 GMT

INDIANAPOLIS ó Two repeat winners, two previous winners and two institutions with multiple winners highlight the Elite 89 awards from the NCAA 2012 fall championships.
Womenís volleyball featured winners in both Division II and III who had previously won the award. Grace Krauser, a senior at DII Wingate, and Kia Johnson, a senior at DIII St. Thomas (Minn.), both won the Elite 89 award during the 2010 womenís volleyball championship, as well. Of the remaining 20 student-athletes named as Elite 89 award winners, two others were honored for a second time in a row at their respective sport championships, including John DeWitt, Wisconsin-Oshkosh, DIII menís cross country; and Nancy Stehman, West Chester (Pa.) DII field hockey.
In addition, North Carolina ó Loren Shealy, DI field hockey, and Caitlin Ball, womenís soccer ó and St. Thomas (Minn.) ó Keegan Bragg, DIII football and Kia Johnson, womenís volleyball ó each featured two student-athletes named as award winners.
The Elite 89, an award founded by the NCAA, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 89 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAAís 89 championships.
All GPAs are based on a straight grading scale to ensure consistency among institutions. All ties are broken by the number of credits completed.
Eligible student-athletes are sophomores or above who have participated in their sports for at least two years with their schools. They must be an active member of the team, traveling and competing at the championship.
The 22 award winners by sport and division (I, II, III or National Collegiate), school and major of study and GPA are:
DI Menís Cross Country Ben DeJarnette Oregon Journalism (4.0)
DII Menís Cross Country Billy Brockmueller Sioux Falls Applied Math. and Computer Science (4.0)
DIII Menís Cross Country *John DeWitt Wisconsin-Oshkosh Secondary Education and Mathematics (4.0)
DI Womenís Cross Country Sarah Callister Weber State Nursing (4.0)
DII Womenís Cross Country Lauryn Falcone Rollins College Biology (4.0)
DIII Womenís Cross Country Dacie Manion MIT Mechanical Engineering (4.0)
DI Field Hockey Loren Shealy North Carolina Business Administration (4.0)
DII Field Hockey *Nancy Stehman West Chester (Pa.) Middle Grades Education and Special Ed. (3.971)
DIII Field Hockey Abby Erler Montclair State Business Administration (4.0)
FCS Football Esley Thorton North Dakota State Exercise Science (3.870)
DII Football Justin Roberts Valdosta State Business Management (3.946)
DII Football Keegan Bragg St. Thomas (Minn.) Mechanical Engineering (3.982)
DI Menís Soccer Keon Parsa Georgetown Biology (3.827)
DII Menís Soccer Martin Wehlert Lynn University Business Administration (4.0)
DIII Menís Soccer Matt Fleming Ohio Northern International Business and Spanish (3.810)
DI Womenís Soccer Caitlin Ball North Carolina Journalism and Mass Communication (3.913)
DII Womenís Soccer Kyra Meli Saint Rose Forensic Psychology (3.910)
DIII Womenís Soccer Erin Roberts Misericordia Speech Language Pathology (4.0)
DI Womenís Volleyball Maggie Harding Penn State Food Sciences (4.0)
DII Womenís Volleyball **Grace Krauser Wingate Sociology (4.0)
DIII Womenís Volleyball **Kia Johnson St. Thomas (Minn.) Biology (3.961)
Menís Water Polo David Lonnberg St. Francis (N.Y.) Political Science (3.968)
* Repeat award winner
** Won award in 2010