Inmarsat-5 F1 communications satellite
BSS-702HP Platform
Separated spacecraft mass:
6,100 kg
Launch Vehicle:
Proton M/Breeze M
705,000 kg (1,554,000 lb), including payload
58.2 m (191ft)
Launch Date:
December 08, 2013
Launch Time:
18:12 Baikonur
04:12 Moscow
12:12 London
12:12 GMT
07:12 EST
Launch Site:
Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Launch Pad 39
Launch Customer:
Inmarsat, London, England
Satellite Manufacturer:
Boeing Space and Intelligence Systems, California, USA
Launch Vehicle Manufacturer:
Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center,Russia
Launch Services Provider:
International Launch Services, Virginia, USA
Satellite Use:
Inmarsat Global Xpress will be the first globally available high-speed broadband network. It will be delivered over three Inmarsat-5 satellites and will offer the unique combination of global coverage from a single operator, consistent higher performance of up to 50 Mbps, and the network reliability for which Inmarsat is renowned. Based on Ka-band technology, GX will consistently deliver higher performance through more compact terminals at a lower cost than existing VSAT services, making it accessible to many more users..
Satellite Statistics:
__89 ka-band transponders
__Anticipated service life: 15 years
Mission Profile:The Proton M launch vehicle, utilizing a 5-burn Breeze M Supersynchronous Transfer Orbit mission design, will lift off from Pad 39 at Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, with the Inmarsat-5 F1 satellite on board. The first three stages of the Proton will use a standard ascent profile to place the orbital unit (Breeze M upper stage and the Inmarsat-5 F1 satellite) into a sub-orbital trajectory. From this point in the mission, the Breeze M will per-form planned mission maneuvers to advance the orbital unit first to a circular parking orbit, then to an intermediate orbit, followed by a transfer orbit, and finally to a supersynchronous transfer orbit. Separation of the Inmarsat-5 F1 satellite is scheduled to occur approximately 15 hours, 31 minutes after liftoff.
Target Orbit at Separation:
Perigee: 4,341km
Apogee: 65,000 km
Inclination: 26.75 degrees
Spacecraft Separation: Approximately 15 hours, 31 minutes after liftoff
ILS Mission Statistics:
_7th ILS Proton Launch in 2013
_84th ILS Proton Launch Overall
_3rd Inmarsat Satellite Launched on Proton
_16th Boeing Satellite Launched on ILS Proton
Live Broadcast: Live Coverage starting at 06:45 EST/ 11:45 GMT
Launch is scheduled for 07:12 EST/ 12:12 GMT
Broadcast concludes no later than 07:45 EDT/ 12:45 GMT