Sony Six to broadcast IPL auction

Rebecca Hawkes | 11-02-2014

The player auction ahead of this year's Indian Premier League (IPL) twenty twenty (T20) cricket tournament will be exclusively broadcast live by Sony Six on 12 and 13 February.

Eight team owners will bid for their dream players, with the option this year of retaining a maximum of five players. The 2014 auction comprises 219 capped players (169 of these are Indians, with 50 from overseas) and 292 uncapped players (255 of whom are Indians and 37 from overseas).

Participants this year include Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Robin Uthappa, Yusuf Pathan, Brad Haddin, Brad Hodge, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Kevin Pietersen, Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor, Jacques Kallis, Mahela Jayawardene and Marlon Samuels.

"This year's auction is probably one of the biggest that we'll see, as all teams will look for a major revamp. Six will bring an in-depth perspective into the strategy each team has chartered for the league, keeping the audience enthralled throughout the event," said Prasana Krishnan, business head, Sony Six.

The auction will be at ITC Gardenia, Bengaluru on 12 February, with an option to continue the following day. It will be conducted once again by British auctioneer Richard Madley, while the coverage on Six will be hosted by Gaurav Kapoor and Ajay Jadeja.