Screen Australia Enterprise Asia delegation headed to China

Louise Duffy | 14-02-2014

Screen Australia has announced the recipients of the third round of its Enterprise Asia programme, supporting nine factual production companies to be part of an Australian screen industry delegation to attend Asian Side of the Doc, taking place in Chengdu on 18-21 March.
•The Enterprise Asia recipients are:
•360 Degree Films – Sally Ingleton
•Artemis International – Brian Beaton
•Chemical Media – Tony Jackson and Joany Sze
•Essential Media and Entertainment – Alan Erson and Michael O'Neill
•Flame Media – John Caldon and Midi Stormont
•Moonshine – Sue Collins and Mike Hill
•Roar Film – Craig Dow Sainter and Steve Thomas
•SeaLight Pictures – Colette Beaudry
•Sea Dog International – Jodie De Barros and Leighton De Barros.

“In the last 12 months, the Enterprise Asia programme has supported three documentary delegation visits, comprising more than 80 delegates and some 45 companies intent on engaging with the region, in keeping with Screen Australia’s strategy to provide opportunities for Australian companies seeking screen partnerships in Asia,” said Graeme Mason, CEO of Screen Australia.

The Screen Australia Enterprise Asia programme supports screen businesses that have viable plans for building their company relationships and their slate in Asia. The programme includes the development of targeted co-productions, seeking co-financing from partners such as broadcasters in the region, and building working relationships with other screen companies.

Asian Side of the Doc is a four-day factual TV market with activities bringing together broadcasters, producers, financiers and other stakeholders. Screen Australia will have a stand in the marketplace and will be producing marketing collateral to support the delegation, including a directory of producers attending the market, Australia at Asian Side of the Doc.

The Australian delegation will also include representatives from Screen Australia, sales companies and production companies attending outside of the Enterprise Asia programme funding round. Screen Australia’s Chris Oliver, senior manager, state and industry partnerships, will lead the delegation.

Other delegates who will attend include:
•Australian International Documentary Conference – Amanda Hawley
•Celeste Geer
•Electric Pictures – Andrew Ogilvie
•Exposure Productions – Andrew Hyde and Kristy O'Brien
•Film Projects – Gregory Miller
•Gulliver Media – Larry Zetlin and Christine Carroll
•Looking Glass International – Karen Lee
•Media Stockade – Madeleine Hetherton
•Smith&Nasht – Simon Nasht
•World Congress of Science and Factual Producers – Alison Leigh
•WildBear Entertainment – Michael Tear, Tina Dalton, Harriet Pike and Sally Wortley.

Representatives from Screen Australia include:
•Chris Oliver, senior manager, state and industry partnerships
•Liz Stevens, senior manager, documentary
•James Sun, Asia programs coordinator