Nine DTT channels to close down in Spain

May 5, 2014 10.41 Europe/London By Robert Briel

Mediaset EspanaWATCH VIDEO. Nine Spanish digital terrestrial channels are to close down on Tuesday, May 6.

Nitro, Xplora , laSexta 3, La 7, La 9, Net TV, Veo TV, AXN and Marca TV will leave the airwaves,as a result of a government decision to close down the channels. The decision followed a ruling by Spain’s Constitutional Court, which said that the last bid for licences in 2010 didn’t follow correct procedure or respect all the rules of competition.

The licences for these channels were given as a “bonus” to existing terrestrial broadcasters without prior public tender, excluding possible interested parties for these frequencies.

The measure affects Mediaset España and Atresmedia worst, who lose two and three channels respectively. However, Atresmedia keeps four DTT channels, Antena 3, laSexta, Neox and Nova. Mediaet reamins with six channels on DTT, with Telecinco, Cuatro, Divinity, Energy, FDF (Factoría de Ficción) and Boing.

During the last few days before the closure of its channels, Mediaset España broadcast this dramatic video, called La Siete, Nueve… entre todos las mataron.