Sea Launch back on Eutelsat 3B prep

May 5, 2014 11.19 Europe/London By Julian Clover

Sea Launch padEnergia Logistics, the prime contractor for Sea Launch, will this week recommence tests ahead of the rollout of the payload for the Eutelsat 3B launch.

In March, preparation of the payload unit and its integration with the Zenit-3SL launch vehicle was put on hold when a discrepancy in the nominal movement of the cable-mast and the Zenit-2S launch vehicle lateral plate occurred while installing the integrated launch vehicle onto the launch pad.

The launch of the Eutelsat 3B satellite is now scheduled for May 26 at 14:10 Pacific Daylight Time (21:10 UTC, 23:10 CEST) at the opening of a 54-minute launch window.

Based on the Eurostar E3000 platform of Airbus Defence and Space, the Eutelsat 3B satellite has been designed to operate three commercial payloads in the C, Ku and Ka bands.