ETV2, ETV3 renamed as Indian state is born

Rebecca Hawkes | 09 May 2014

The Eenadu TV (ETV) Group has renamed two of its news channels in recognition of the new Indian state of Telangana, which will become reality on 2 June 2014.

The country's 29th state gained parliamentary approval on 20 February 2014 by bifurcating Andhra Pradesh.

In response, the recently launched ETV3 has been now been renamed ETV Telangana while the existing ETV2 will become ETV Andhra Pradesh (AP).

The news channels will now focus on their respective states, however the main bureaux for both ETV Telangana and ETV Andhra Pradesh will remain in Hyderabad.