German pay-TV operator Sky Deutschland has acquired the exclusive Formula E broadcasting rights and will show all races of the new FIA championship which features cars powered exclusively by electric energy.

Apart from the TV broadcasting rights, the agreement also includes the internet, IPTV and mobile rights.

Formula E races will take place on Saturdays. The live transmissions by Sky Deutschland will include half an hour of pre-coverage and 15 minutes of post-race analysis. Sascha Roos and Sven Heidfeld will provide commentary, with the first race in Beijing on September 13, 2014, to be shown live on Sky Sport HD 1 from 09.30 CET.

“With its mix of innovative technology and great entertainment, Formula E is a perfect fit for Sky and our customers,” said Carsten Schmidt, chief officer sports, advertising sales & internet at Sky Deutschland. “We are looking forward to the attractive line-up of drivers and the great venues which make Formula E an innovative racing series with a promise for best motorsport entertainment.”

Ali Russell, director of media at Formula E, added: “Germany has a long and illustrious motorsport heritage and remains a key market for Formula E. We’re therefore delighted to be able to announce this deal with Sky Deutschland which will bring a new era of close, street racing to Germany’s passionate motorsport fans and build further interest ahead of the inaugural Berlin ePrix in May 2015.”

All ten races of the Formula E season are street circuits. Among the venues are Beijing, Buenos Aires, Miami, Long Beach, Monte Carlo, London and Berlin. The race in the German Capital will take place on May 30, 2015, at the former airport area in Tempelhof.

In the inaugural 2014/15 season, Formula E will see a total of ten teams with two drivers each. There are two German drivers participating: Nick Heidfeld who starts for Leonardo di Caprio’s Venturi-Team and Daniel Abt representing Audi Sport Abt.

Many former Formula One drivers will also enter the race, among them Jarno Trulli who starts for his own team. With Katherine Legge and Michela Cerruti, the racing series will also see two female drivers.

The highlights of the Formula E races will be available free of charge to all motorsport fans on Sky Deutschland’s catch-up service Sky Mediathek on the internet.