The TV channels of German commercial broadcast group Mediengruppe RTL Deutschland will continue to be available on digital terrestrial airwaves in Northern Germany.

Media authority MA HSH renewed the DTT allocations of RTL, RTL II, Super RTL and VOX in federal states Schleswig-Holstein and Hamburg by 10 years each until November 7, 2024.

In summer 2014, RTL group decided to stick with digital terrestrial distribution of its channels and support the transition to the new broadcast standard DVB-T2 which will commence in mid-2016.

“That’s good news for two reasons,” said MA HSH director Thomas Fuchs. “Viewers in Schleswig-Holstein and Hamburg will be able to continue receiving RTL group’s channels terrestrially. The extension also marks the first step towards the transition to DVB-T2. Terrestrial television only has a future with HD-capable, modern technology.”