Indian Super League football to air on Eurosport
Rebecca Hawkes
| 10 October 2014
Eurosport has acquired the pan-European rights to broadcast the debut season of the Indian Super League (ISL) football tournament, which begins on Sunday 12 October.

Former international players David Trezeguet (France), Alessandro Del Piero (Italy), David James (England), Nicolas Anelka (France) and Freddie Ljungberg (Sweden) have all been enlisted to participate and help pass on their skills and experience to domestic talent – and ultimately to raise the profile of football in India.

"There's people playing everywhere in the street – it's clear there's a genuine passion for football here [in India], but the infrastructure needs some help. Which is where we come in, to try to help kids learn more of the technical side and the mentality to be successful," Freddie Ljungberg told The Guardian.

IMG Reliance and Star India are co-promoters of the event, which comprises eight Indian franchises with 22 players in each squad. Other famous faces involved include Robert Pirès (France), Mikaël Silvestre (France), Marco Materazzi (Italy), Luis Garcia (Spain), Joan Capdevila (Spain), Kristof van Hout (Belgium) and Elano Blumer (Brazil).

The inaugural match of the ISL between Atletico de Kolkata and Mumbai City FC will be played at the Salt Lake Stadium, Kolkata on Sunday 12 October. Eurosport will broadcast it live on Eurosport 2 at 15:30 CET.

The tournament runs until 20 December 2014. inShare0