The Russian Television and Radio Broadcasting Network (RTRS) has completed the transition to DVB-T2, with Moscow and Moscow region, Kursk and Kaliningrad regions being the last parts of the country to adopt the standard.

The transition began following a government decree on March 3, 2012 that required RTRS to upgrade its digital TV networks in the regions where the first multiplex began broadcasting began before 2012 and was carried out in DVB-T.

In total, RTRS has undertaken the transition in 16 regions of Russia.

It has also paid for the process out of its own funds.

RTRS says there are currently more than 1,000 TV models and over 100 models of digital set-top boxes that support the DVB-T2 standard in Russia.

It adds that the first DTT multiplex it operates reaches 85.3% of Russia’s population, equivalent to 121.8 million people, and the second 48.1%, or 68.6 million people.