India registers more MSOs for cable digitisation drive

DetailsRebecca Hawkes | 19 March 2015

A further 11 multi-system operators (MSOs) across India have been granted permission to run digital cable TV systems for a period of ten years, bringing the total number of registered operators to 153.

The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting has allowed permanent registration for the following MSOs to operate digital addressable cable systems:

• Cossco Communications Ltd of Shyamnagar for West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa, Sikkim, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram and Tripura

• Netset Media Services of Jamnagar for the state of Gujarat

• Satlinks of Pallakad for the state of Kerala

• Vishwam Cable Network of Porbandar in Gujarat

• Suraj Cable Network of Rajkot in Gujarat

• Kaizen Digital Services for Karnataka (except Mysore)

• Utkal Cable Vision of Orissa across India

• SS Cable Network of Balaghat for Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Odhisha & Jharkhand

• Chelikam Networks of Tirupati for Chittur, Kadapa, Ananthpur and Nellore Districts of Andhra Pradesh

• DDC CATV Network of Delhi for pan India

• Mohit Sai Cable Network of Vizayanagram for Vishakapatanam, Vizayanagaram and Srikakulam District in the state of Andhra Pradesh.

A full list of the areas and dates covered by the new permissions is included on the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting website.