El Clįsico flies over the world

DetailsJuan Fernandez Gonzalez | 20 March 2015

There aren't many places around the globe which won't be able to watch El Clįsico, the La Liga football match between Barcelona and Real Madrid this weekend, but now Mediapro has announced that the game will also be broadcast above the clouds, following an agreement with Turkish Airlines.

As has previously happened with the Premier League, El Clįsico will be available on 17 intercontinental flights of the Star Alliance company.

The signal for the match, produced by Mediapro from Barcelona's Camp Nou, will also be broadcast in over 100 countries around the world. Thanks to agreements with DIRECTV, Canal+ and beIN Sports, the match, recorded in 4K for a second year, will be watched from Latin America to Southern Asia.

The time has been also carefully selected by La Liga and TV operators so it suits as many countries as possible. In Latin America, where the match is hotly anticipated, it will air from 2pm in Mexico, 5pm in Brazil, 3pm in Colombia and 4pm in Miami.

In addition to the thousandth game between Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, Mediapro has produced the documentary Clįsico, Pese a Todo (Clįsico, In Spite of Everything), which has been acquired by SKY Brazil, SKY Mexico, ESPN STAR, Canal+, TV4 Sweden and NTV Russia among others.