Bosnia & Herzegovina will shortly start on the first phase of its long-awaited transition to digital terrestrial broadcasting.

According to Telecompaper and Al Jazeera Balkans, this follows a decision by the Council of Ministers to allocate the necessary equipment to the three state broadcasters, namely BHRT, RTRS and Federalne TV.

The latter are now required to sign an agreement on the sign of the equipment within 30 days.

DTT signals will initially be available in the cities of Banja Luka, Mostar and Sarajevo, before being extended to other parts of the country.

As previously reported in Broadband TV News, Bosnia & Herzegovina is the only country in Europe not to have begun the transition to digital terrestrial broadcasting.

The deadline for the transition had been June 17.