All 11 rounds of the upcoming FIA Formula E Championship will be shown live and free-to-air by Eurosport in Germany.

The sports broadcaster owned by Discovery Networks has secured the exclusive TV and digital rights to the competition for the 2015/16 and 2016/17 seasons in Germany, Poland, Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Finland, as well as Iceland on a non-exclusive basis.

“Motorsport is one of Eurosport’s pillars, with the channel broadcasting major events including MotoGP, FIA WTCC, Le Mans 24 Hours and the World Superbike Championship,” said Peter Hutton, Chief Executive Officer of Eurosport. “Securing the rights to Formula E further bolsters the channel’s portfolio with a unique brand of racing. It supports our strategy to bring must-have content to local viewers whilst reaching a wider audience.”

Hans-Jurgen Abt, team principal at ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport, added: “Formula E live on free television – that’s great news for all motorsport fans in Germany. We already received a lot of positive feedback about our commitment during the first season and are now looking forward to making the next step together with Eurosport. ”

The inaugural 2014/15 season of the FIA Formula E Championship was shown exclusively by pay-TV broadcaster Sky Deutschland in Germany. The new race series features cars powered solely by electric energy.