Northern Cape will be SA's gateway to digital TV migration


Rebecca Hawkes

| 30 September 2015

A registration process for subsidised set-top boxes (STBs) will begin on 2 October as the Northern Cape readies itself to be the first to migrate to digital terrestrial television (DTT) in South Africa.

The government has promised to subsidise five million low income TV-owning households with free STBs to enable the reception of digital TV signals.

Minister of Communications Faith Muthambi said the initial registration process will take in the Square Kilometre Array (SKA) community of Keimoes and Kai Garib, which is set to receive 16 000 government subsidised STBs.

"The SKA area in the Northern Cape was identified as the place where the DTT will start," Muthambi said in a statement. "We have set ourselves the target of concluding the migration from analogue to digital here in the Northern Cape by January 1 2016."

Other areas in the SKA involved in the government's DTT set-top box project include: Brandvlei, Britstown, Calvinia, Carnarvon, Fraserburg, Groblershoop, Kakamas, Keimoes, Kenhardt, Loeriesfontein, Marydale, Nieuwoudtville, Pofadder, Springbok, Sutherland, Vanwyksvlei, Victoria West and Williston.

Low income householders in the region are advised to register with the STB scheme via their local post office.

South Africa missed the ITU's global deadline of June 2015 for the migration of analogue television transmission to digital terrestrial television.