American Women in Radio and Television honored XM Satellite Radio's exclusive "Oprah & Friends" channel with three national Gracie Awards. On-air hosts Dr. Maya Angelou, "The Gayle King Show" and "Oprah & Friends" producer Annette Flournoy were named among recipients of the honors, which recognize programming created for women, by women and about women in electronic media.

HONORS - The World Teleport Association named SES AMERICOM the recipient of its first Nova Award. The company was honored for the development and launch of its IP-Prime satellite-based IPTV service.

PEOPLE - The Society of Satellite Professionals International announced the election of officers and members to its board of directors. Newly elected directors starting their first term: Paul Beeman, senior vice president, satellite engineering and affiliate relations, FOX Networks; Andreas Georghiou, CEO of Spacenet; and Mark Quinn, senior vice president, Willis Inspace. Directors serving a second term: Barbara Jaffe, senior vice president of advanced technology and operations for HBO; and D.K. Sachdev, president of Space Tel Consultancy LLC. Newly-appointed officers: Chairman Dom Stasi, chief technology officer of TVN Entertainment; President Richard P. Wolf, vice president, telecom and distribution, broadcast operations and engineering at ABC; Treasurer Steven Teller, president, IOT Systems; and vice president of chapters Dick Tauber, vice president, transmission systems and new technology, CNN News Group.