Hamilton tops Down Under

Lewis Hamilton put a dent in the Aussie celebrations as he pipped Mark Webber to the top slot in Friday's second practice for the Australian GP.

Webber had led the way for much of the session, hitting the top of the timesheets a third of the way through the hour and half. He held the position until two minutes before the end when his time was destroyed by 0.914s.

Felipe Massa finished in third place, ahead of Heikki Kovalainen and David Coulthard. Kimi Raikkonen, the fastest man in practice one, ended the day in sixth place.

Hamilton was soon setting the pace in sweltering temperatures with Webber down in fifth, but the Australian soon revealed good pace in the Red Bull by bettering the Briton's time on his second run.

Kovalainen's McLaren was also going well and Nico Rosberg's Williams showed up well in the first half of the session, but Fernando Alonso slipped back after going fourth fastest early.

With drivers working hard on their set-up only David Coulthard moved through the field, taking his Red Bull up to seventh with half an hour remaining.

Massa moved into second as the action got going again late on, but a yellow flag came out when Jarno Trulli's Toyota stopped in sector one.

Hamilton left things late, but he was fastest through three sectors on his way to the top almost a full second up on Webber's earlier mark.

Coulthard's good day improved when he found more speed to take fifth position in the dying minutes.

01 L. Hamilton McLaren 1:26.559 33 laps
02 M. Webber Red Bull 1:27.473 27 laps
03 F. Massa Ferrari 1:27.640 29 laps
04 H. Kovalainen McLaren 1:27.683 29 laps
05 D. Coulthard Red Bull 1:28.037 26 laps
06 K. Räikkönen Ferrari 1:28.208 28 laps
07 J. Trulli Toyota 1:28.292 22 laps
08 N. Rosberg Williams 1:28.352 31 laps
09 G. Fisichella Force India F1 1:28.469 32 laps
10 T. Glock Toyota 1:28.582 28 laps
11 J. Button Honda 1:28.632 30 laps
12 N. Heidfeld BMW 1:28.731 33 laps
13 F. Alonso Renault 1:28.779 37 laps
14 R. Barrichello Honda 1:28.849 28 laps
15 R. Kubica BMW 1:28.860 35 laps
16 K. Nakajima Williams 1:29.077 33 laps
17 A. Sutil Force India F1 1:29.161 32 laps
18 S. Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:29.193 40 laps
19 N. Piquet jr. Renault 1:29.518 14 laps
20 S. Bourdais Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:29.605 11 laps
21 T. Sato Super Aguri 1:30.663 16 laps
22 A. Davidson Super Aguri 1:31.527 8 laps