Raikkonen grabs Spanish pole

Alonso delights fans with second spot

Raikkonen: First pole

World champion Kimi Raikkonen claimed pole position for the Spanish Grand Prix with his final qualifying lap at the Circuit de Catalunya.

It is the first time this year that the Finn will start from the front of the grid, which he shares with the Renault of Fernando Alonso, who had the partisan crowd on their feet with the fastest lap as the clock ticked down.

But Raikkonen was the only man left on the track and no sooner had the Renault team finished celebrating than the Ferrari crossed the line a fraction quicker.

Raikkonen's team-mate Felipe Massa is third with the BMW of Robert Kubica alongside on the second row, while Lewis Hamilton had to settle for fifth place next to Heikki Kovaleinan in the second McLaren.

The suspicion was that Alonso, who had previously talked down his chance of a podium finish, was carrying a light fuel load but he must still gain confidence in the speed shown by the Renault.

Mark Webber heads the fourth row in the Red Bull but there was disappointment for team-mate David Coulthard, who languishes in 17th on the grid after going second fastest in final practice.

Unsurprisingly, Super Aguri duo Anthony Davidson and Takuma Sato will start at the rear of the field, albeit with a degree of consolation for the Briton, who was quicker than his team-mate for the first time this season.

Qualifying result:

1. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1 min 21.813 secs
2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault 1:21.904
3. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:22.058
4. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber 1:22.065
5. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:22.096
6. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) McLaren 1:22.231
7. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 1:22.429
8. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 1:22.529
9. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:22.542
10. Nelson Piquet (Brazil) Renault 1:22.699
11. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 1:21.049
12. Kazuki Nakajima (Japan) Williams - Toyota 1:21.117
13. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 1:21.211
14. Timo Glock (Germany) Toyota 1:21.230
15. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams - Toyota 1:21.349
16. Sebastien Bourdais (France) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1:21.724
17. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull - Renault 1:21.810
18. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1:22.108
19. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Force India - Ferrari 1:22.516
20. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India - Ferrari 1:23.224
21. Anthony Davidson (Britain) Super Aguri - Honda 1:23.318
22. Takuma Sato (Japan) Super Aguri - Honda 1:23.496