Ron is Footballer of the Year

United star retains award

Cristiano Ronaldo has been named Footballer of the Year for the second season in succession.

Ronaldo was handed the honour by the Football Writers' Association and will pick up his award at a Gala dinner on May 15th.

Ronaldo picked up the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year earlier this week for a second season and he has followed this up to complete a clean sweep of awards.

"Ronaldo's award is no surprise after his brilliant form this season and incredible goal-scoring record - 38 at the moment -and he is, of course, essentially a winger," chairman of the FWA, Paul Hetherington stated.

"Cristiano was an overwhelming winner and, given his age, he has the potential and ability to dominate this award for years in an unprecedented way."

The last player to take the award two yeas in succession was Arsenal's Thierry Henry in 2003 & 2004.