No Czech second thoughts for Nedvěd

The Czech Republic have named a provisional 23-man finals squad without Pavel Nedvěd after the midfielder chose not to return to international football for UEFA EURO 2008™.

Absence confirmed
The Juventus midfielder announced his retirement from international football in the wake of the 2006 FIFA World Cup, but had been mooted for a return to the squad after another experienced figure, Tomáš Rosický, was ruled out of UEFA EURO 2008™ following knee surgery. However, Nedvěd has confirmed he is not willing to play, with coach Karel Brückner leaving the 35-year-old out of his squad for a training camp at Bad Kleinkirchheim next week.

New arrival
FC Spartak Moskva central defender Radoslav Kováč is back in the fold after recovering from shoulder surgery in March along with Chelsea FC goalkeeper Petr Čech, while FC Baník Ostrava forward Václav Svěrkoš is the only newcomer. The 24-year-old Svěrkoš, who previously played for VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach and Hertha BSC Berlin in Germany, is the top scorer in the Czech league with 15 goals this season. Radek Šírl, who is on UEFA Cup final duty with FC Zenit St. Petersburg, may yet find his way into the squad before the 28 May deadline.

Late arrivals
The Czechs will convene for the one-week camp on Tuesday, but Libor Sionko and Zdeněk Pospěch will miss most of the get-together as they still have league games to play with FC Křbenhavn in Denmark. Čech will also arrive late as he is playing in the UEFA Champions League final on Wednesday. The Czechs play Lithuania at SK Slavia Praha's new stadium on 27 May before a UEFA EURO 2008™ dress rehearsal against Scotland in Prague on 30 May.

Czech Republic squad
Goalkeepers: Petr Čech (Chelsea FC), Jaromír Blažek (1. FC Nürnberg), Daniel Zítka (RSC Anderlecht).

Defenders: Marek Jankulovski (AC Milan), David Rozehnal (S.S. Lazio), Tomáš Ujfaluši (ACF Fiorentina), Zdeněk Pospěch (FC Křbenhavn), Zdeněk Grygera (Juventus), Michal Kadlec (AC Sparta Praha), Tomáš Sivok (AC Sparta Praha), Radoslav Kováč (FC Spartak Moskva).

Midfielders: Tomáš Galásek (1. FC Nürnberg), David Jarolím (Hamburger SV), Jaroslav Plašil (CA Osasuna), Jan Polák (RSC Anderlecht), Marek Matějovský (Reading FC), Libor Sionko (FC Křbenhavn), Daniel Pudil (SK Slavia Praha), Stanislav Vlček (RSC Anderlecht).

Forwards: Jan Koller (1. FC Nürnberg), Milan Baroš (Porsmouth FC), Martin Fenin (Eintracht Frankfurt), Václav Svěrkoš (FC Baník Ostrava).