Trezeguet overlooked by Domenech

France coach Raymond Domenech has named a provisional 30-man squad for UEFA EURO 2008™ but Juventus striker David Trezeguet is not among the players listed.

Trophy chasers
Seven players from the selection will be trimmed ahead of the 28 May deadline for the final squad announcement but Domenech opted for a provisional list at this stage in order to be able to cope with any late injuries. No less than 21 of his charges are involved in the UEFA Champions League final between Manchester United FC and Chelsea FC on Wednesday, the French Cup final between champions Olympique Lyonnais and Paris Saint-Germain FC on Saturday and the final of the Coppa Italia between AS Roma and FC Internazionale Milano.

Gomis surprise
During a press conference at the French Football Federation headquarters in Paris, Domenech unveiled the list of players, who will be preparing for UEFA EURO 2008™ in Tignes in the French Alps. Juventus striker David Trezeguet is not picked but France's Player of the Year, and Ligue 1 top goalscorer, Karim Benzema and goalkeeper Steve Mandanda are selected. There was also one surprise with AS Saint-Etienne striker Bafétimbi Gomis selected for the first time after a fine season that included 16 league goals.

'Fully deserved'
"This is not a surprise as we have been following him for a while now and he fully deserves to be in this provisional squad," said Domenech, who had little to say on Trezeguet's absence. "It is a choice which is more about the organisation of the team," he added. France will play three friendly games before the finals in Austria and Switzerland. Les Bleus face Ecuador on 27 May in Grenoble, Paraguay on 31 May in Toulouse and Colombia on 3 June at the Stade de France. In UEFA EURO 2008™, France will meet Romania, the Netherlands and Italy in Group C.

France squad
Goalkeepers: Grégory Coupet (Olympique Lyonnais), Mickaël Landreau (Paris Saint-Germain FC), Sébastien Frey (ACF Fiorentina), Steve Mandanda (Olympique de Marseille).

Defenders: Willy Sagnol (FC Bayern München), Lilian Thuram (FC Barcelona), William Gallas (Arsenal FC), Eric Abidal (FC Barcelona), Patrice Evra (FC Manchester United), Jean-Alain Boumsong (Olympique Lyonnais), François Clerc (Olympique Lyonnais), Julien Escudé (Sevilla FC), Philippe Mexès (AS Roma), Sébastien Squillaci (Olympique Lyonnais).

Midfielders: Alou Diarra (FC Girondins de Bordeaux), Mathieu Flamini (Arsenal FC), Patrick Vieira (FC Internazionale Milano), Claude Makelele (Chelsea FC), Jérémy Toulalan (Olympique Lyonnais), Lassana Diarra (Portsmouth FC).

Strikers: Franck Ribéry (FC Bayern München), Florent Malouda (Chelsea FC), Sidney Govou (Olympique Lyonnais), Samir Nasri (Olympique de Marseille), Hatem Ben Arfa (Olympique Lyonnais), Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea FC), Thierry Henry (FC Barcelona), Karim Benzema (Olympique Lyonnais), Djibril Cissé (Olympique de Marseille), Bafétimbi Gomis (AS Saint-Etienne).