Van Basten selects provisional party

There were few surprises as Marco van Basten named a provisional 30-man Netherlands squad for UEFA EURO 2008™, though he has not ruled out changes before revealing his final party at the end of the month.

Boschker call
FC Twente's Sander Boschker is perhaps the most eye-catching inclusion, the uncapped 37-year-old chosen as fourth goalkeeper ahead of BV Vitesse's Piet Velthuizen. Boschker may find himself surplus to requirements when the party is cut down to 26 on 16 May, ahead of a training camp in Noordwijk, before three more drop out prior to the 28 May finals deadline.

Time to change
Until then Van Basten insists his decisions can still be swayed. "Things can happen in just a few weeks," said the coach, who will take over at AFC Ajax after the tournament. "Players can get injured, lose form and so on." His Oranje team play friendlies against Ukraine (24 May), Denmark (29 May) and Wales (1 June) before kicking off their UEFA EURO 2008™ campaign against Italy on 9 June.

Netherlands squad
Goalkeepers: Sander Boschker (FC Twente), Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United FC), Maarten Stekelenburg (AFC Ajax), Henk Timmer (Feyenoord).

Defenders: Wilfred Bouma (Aston Villa FC), Tim de Cler (Feyenoord), Urby Emanuelson (AFC Ajax), John Heitinga (AFC Ajax), Kew Jaliens (AZ Alkmaar), Joris Mathijsen (Hamburger SV), Mario Melchiot (Wigan Athletic FC), André Ooijer (Blackburn Rovers FC).

Midfielders: Ibrahim Afellay (PSV Eindhoven), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Feyenoord), Orlando Engelaar (FC Twente), Nigel de Jong (Hamburger SV), Denny Landzaat (Feyenoord), Hedwiges Maduro (Valencia CF), Clarence Seedorf (AC Milan), Wesley Sneijder (Real Madrid CF), Rafael van der Vaart (Hamburger SV), Demy de Zeeuw (AZ Alkmaar).

Forwards: Ryan Babel (Liverpool FC), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (AFC Ajax), Danny Koevermans (PSV Eindhoven), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool FC), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Real Madrid CF), Robin van Persie (Arsenal FC), Arjen Robben (Real Madrid CF), Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink (Celtic FC).