Massa secures Monaco pole

Ferrari dominate in Monte Carlo

Felipe Massa will start from pole in Sunday's Monaco Grand Prix after posting the fastest time in Saturday's qualifying session.

Massa's Ferrari team-mate and reigning world champion Kimi Raikkonen joins the Brazilian on the front of the grid with the two McLarens of Lewis Hamilton and Heikki Kovalainen on the second row.

Robert Kubica clinched fifth in his BMW Sauber, followed by Nico Rosberg in his Williams, Fernando Alonso for Renault and the Toyota of Jarno Trulli.

Starting in pole position goes a long way to deciding the eventual winner at the gruelling circuit and it was Massa, who for the third time this year and 12th of his career will start at the front of the grid to strengthen Ferrari's grip on this season.

Also during qualifying there was a worrying moment when Scottish racer David Coulthard was involved in a high-speed crash on the Monaco circuit.

The Briton lost control of his Red Bull car as he came out of the tunnel - the fastest part of the street circuit race - and slammed into the right wall.

The front right wheel was damaged while the rear right wheel came loose, forcing the car to skid into the runoff area. Coulthard appeared unhurt getting out of his car.

Coulthard had set the sixth fastest lap time after two sessions of qualifying for Sunday's race.

Five years ago Jenson Button suffered a similar accident at the same point, and was forced out of the grand prix after suffering concussion.

Monaco Grand Prix qualifying result:

1. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1min 15.787secs

2. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:15.815

3. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:15.839

4. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) McLaren 1:16.165

5. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber 1:16.171

6. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams - Toyota 1:16.548

7. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault 1:16.852

8. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 1:17.203

9. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 1:17.343

10. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull - Renault 1:15.839

11. Timo Glock (Germany) Toyota 1:15.907

12. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 1:16.101

13 Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:16.455

14 Kazuki Nakajima (Japan) Williams 1:16.479

15 Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 1:16.537

16 Sebastien Bourdais (France) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:16.806

17 Nelson Piquet Jr. (Brazil) Renault 1:16.933

18 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:16.955

19 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 1:17.225

20 Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Force India 1:17.823