Midfielders miss out on Russia places

Midfielders Aleksandr Pavlenko and Oleg Ivanov have missed the cut after coach Guus Hiddink named his final 23-man Russia squad for UEFA EURO 2008™.
'No complaints'
FC Spartak Moskva's Pavlenko and FC Krylya Sovetov Samara's Ivanov have been culled from the provisional 25-man party as Hiddink announced his tournament selection a day earlier than expected. "I want to point out that we have no complaints about Pavlenko and Ivanov," said Hiddink. "They worked well in training and left a good impression. We want them to stay with us until the end of the EURO." Having beaten Kazakhstan 6-0 on 23 May, Russia play Serbia in Berghausen tomorrow, then Lithuania on 4 June before meeting Spain in their first Group D fixture in Innsbruck on 10 June.

Russia squad
Goalkeepers: Igor Akinfeev (PFC CSKA Moskva), Vladimir Gabulov (FC Amkar Perm), Vyacheslav Malafeev (FC Zenit St. Petersburg).

Defenders: Aleksandr Anyukov (FC Zenit St. Petersburg), Aleksei Berezutski (PFC CSKA Moskva), Vasili Berezutski (PFC CSKA Moskva), Sergei Ignashevich (PFC CSKA Moskva), Denis Kolodin (FC Dinamo Moskva), Roman Shirokov (FC Zenit St. Petersburg), Renat Yanbaev (FC Lokomotiv Moskva).

Midfielders: Diniyar Bilyaletdinov (FC Lokomotiv Moskva), Dmitri Torbinskiy (FC Lokomotiv Moskva), Vladimir Bystrov (FC Spartak Moskva), Yuri Zhirkov (PFC CSKA Moskva), Konstantin Zyrianov (FC Zenit St. Petersburg), Igor Semshov (FC Dinamo Moskva), Sergei Semak (FC Rubin Kazan).

Forwards: Roman Adamov (FC Moskva), Roman Pavlyuchenko (FC Spartak Moskva), Dmitri Sychev (FC Lokomotiv Moskva), Pavel Pogrebnyak (FC Zenit St. Petersburg), Andrei Arshavin (FC Zenit St. Petersburg), Ivan Saenko (1. FC Nürnberg).