Massa fastest, then crashes

Kovalainen pips Hamilton into second

Last updated: 4th July 2008

World championship leader Felipe Massa crashed out of Friday practice at the British Grand Prix but had already set the fastest time.
Massa lost control of his car at the end of the 180mph Hangar Straight, spinning on oil dropped when the engine failed in Fernando Alonso's Renault just minutes earlier.

The Ferrari pirouetted off the track and slammed backwards into a tyre barrier, destroying the rear end of the car. Race control immediately threw the red flag to suspend the session with 33 minutes remaining.

Massa got out of the car unaided but there was an 18-minute delay while the Brazilian's crumpled Ferrari was prised away from the Stowe Corner barrier and marshals cleared away the oil deposited by Alonso's stricken Renault.
Despite playing no further part in the 90-minute session, Massa's time of one minute 19.575 seconds set just before his accident was good enough to top the timesheets.


Heikki Kovalainen pipped McLaren team-mate Lewis Hamilton into second place right at the death as the top three finished the session separated by just 0.048secs.
Kimi Raikkonen was next up, three tenths of a second off the pace of his Ferrari team-mate, while Robert Kubica was a further four tenths in arrears in fifth.

Alonso was looking good in the Renault before his engine failure, posting a time good enough for sixth place despite managing just seven laps, while Sebastian Vettel continued his impressive form for Toro Rosso with seventh.
Nelson Piquet was eighth for Renault, while Red Bull Racing's David Coulthard, preparing for his last British Grand Prix after confirming yesterday he will retire at the end of the season, was ninth ahead of Nico Rosberg in the Williams.

Kovalainen was once again quicker than Hamilton in Friday's second session, the Finn setting the pace in the afternoon with a time of 1:19.989s.

British Grand Prix, Friday practice, session one:

1. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:19.575
2. Heikki Kovalainen McLaren 1:19.587 + 0.012
3. Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1:19.623 + 0.048
4. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:19.948 + 0.373
5. Robert Kubica BMW 1:20.367 + 0.792
6. Fernando Alonso Renault 1:20.436 + 0.861
7. Sebastian Vettel Toro Rosso 1:20.588 + 1.013
8. Nelson Piquet Renault 1:20.653 + 1.078
9. David Coulthard Red Bull 1:20.698 + 1.123
10. Nico Rosberg Williams 1:20.744 + 1.169
11. Mark Webber Red Bull 1:20.892 + 1.317
12. Timo Glock Toyota 1:21.102 + 1.527
13. Nick Heidfeld BMW 1:21.107 + 1.532
14. Sebastien Bourdais Toro Rosso 1:21.166 + 1.591
15. Jarno Trulli Toyota 1:21.265 + 1.690
16. Kazuki Nakajima Williams 1:21.282 + 1.707
17. Jenson Button Honda 1:21.901 + 2.326
18. Adrian Sutil Force India 1:22.169 + 2.594
19. Giancarlo Fisichella Force India 1:22.219 + 2.644
20. Rubens Barrichello Honda 1:24.123 + 4.548