Ukraine allows 13 Russian TV channels to broadcast in country

Thirteen Russian television channels have been allowed to broadcast their programmes in Ukraine. This number, however, does not include RTR-Planeta, REN-TV, TVC International and Channel One.

The National Council on Television and Radio Broadcasting of Ukraine has taken the decision. On 1 November, 2008, the council stopped the broadcast of certain Russian TV channels, as they failed to meet the requirements of Ukrainian laws on morals, advertising and copyright.