Change of frequencies wanted

Iñaki Ferreras

Spain's Ministry of Industry, Tourism and Commerce want national private broadcasters laSexta, Veo TV and Net TV to move from their present transmission frequencies after national analogue switch off on April 3 2010. Such a move would mean viewers resetting their boxes and integrated TV sets in order to carry on watching these channels.

A final official decision is yet to be made but the reason for this proposal is the beginning of new mobile services starting from 2015. on June 17 the Ministry of Industry is expected to present a new law establishing from January 1 2015 the frequency band of 790-862 MHz for mobile communications. On the same date another new law will be presented to regulate HDTV on DTT.

All broadcasters would eventually have to move but in the first phase, those above would be the first because their licences are more recent than those of the rest of the broadcasters.

Grupo Planeta's Antena 3, Mediaset's Telecinco and Sogecable's Cuatro would stay where they are in the present mux in the same analogue frequency.

Private broadcasters with digital licences are Antena 3, Telecinco, Sogecable, laSexta, Net Tv and Veo TV. All of them aspire to have their own whole mux from April 2010. For the moment, the DTT spectrum is shared among all of them.

Telecinco has recently announced it will replace its Telecinco 2 DTT channel with La 7, the new name for it, with the goal to design the new strategy towards a total DTT future according to internal sources.