Kovalainen takes pole

Hamilton on the second row at Silverstone

Last updated: 5th July 2008

Heikki Kovalainen took his first pole position after recording the fastest lap in final qualifying for the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.
Mark Webber finished second to share the front row while world champion Kimi Raikkonen took third.

British ace Lewis Hamilton could only finish fourth in his McLaren after leading after the second qualifying session, he ran wide on to the gravel going into Priory to blow his chances of a repeat performance.

Great run

"It's great to be on pole!" exclaimed Kovalainen. "Our pace has been good all week, and I'm confident our strategy will be strong.
"They were quite difficult qualifying conditions, with dark skies and blustery winds in Q1.
"But in the second part it was much better without any problems, before a great run in the final part which I'm very happy about.
"Tomorrow is still a long race and anything can happen, but the balance in high and low speeds is as good as it's been all season."

German Nick Heidfeld took fifth in his BMW Sauber and behind him came Renault's Fernando Alonso and Nelson Piquet Jr.
Sebastian Vettel finished eighth in his Scuderia Toro Rosso, while championship leader Felipe Massa could only take ninth in his Ferrari.
Robert Kubica completed the top ten in his BMW Sauber.
British driver David Coulthard just missed the cut in his Red Bull in 11th, while compatriot Jenson Button went out in the first qualifying at Silverstone for the third year in a row, finishing 17th in Honda.

Qualifying Positions:

1 Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) McLaren 1min 21.049secs
2 Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 1:21.554
3 Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Ferrari 1:21.706
4 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) McLaren 1:21.835
5 Nick Heidfeld (Ger) BMW Sauber 1:21.875
6 Fernando Alonso (Spa) Renault 1:22.029
7 Nelson Piquet Jr. (Bra) Renault 1:22.491
8 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:23.251
9 Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari 1:23.305
10 Robert Kubica (Pol) BMW Sauber No Time
11 David Coulthard (Gbr) Red Bull 1:20.174
12 Timo Glock (Ger) Toyota 1:20.274
13 Sebastien Bourdais (Fra) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:20.531
14 Jarno Trulli (Ita) Toyota 1:20.601
15 Kazuki Nakajima (Jpn) Williams 1:21.112
16 Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Honda 1:21.512
17 Jenson Button (Gbr) Honda 1:21.631
18 Nico Rosberg (Ger) Williams 1:21.668
19 Adrian Sutil (Ger) Force India 1:21.786
20 Giancarlo Fisichella (Ita) Force India 1:21.885.